Historydraft LogoHistorydraft Logo HistorydraftbetaHistorydraft Logo Historydraftbeta

Brazilian Revolution of 1930

The Fourth and Final dissent Arose Within The Paulista Republican Party (PRP)

São Paulo, Brazil

In 1926, the fourth and final dissent arose within the Paulista Republican Party (PRP). The dissidents were led by Dr. José Adriano de Marrey Junior. He founded the Democratic Party (PD), which, among other reforms, advocated a program of higher education as well as the overthrow of PRP power. This political crisis originated within the Freemasons, chaired by Dr. José Adriano de Marrey Junior. As such, São Paulo was divided during the elections of 1930.