Historydraft LogoHistorydraft Logo
Historydraft Logo
Gold Room Bretton Woods Participating Nations Display Case - Bretton Woods Conference

Saturday Jul 1, 1944 to Friday Jul 21, 1944

New Hampshire, United States

Continue in Storyteller   Timeline

Bretton Woods Conference

The Bretton Woods Conference, formally known as the United Nations Monetary and Financial Conference, was the gathering of 730 delegates from all 44 Allied nations at the Mount Washington Hotel, situated in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, United States, to regulate the international monetary and financial order after the conclusion of World War II. The conference was held from July 1 to 22, 1944. Agreements were signed that, after legislative ratification by member governments, established the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Continue in Storyteller