Historydraft LogoHistorydraft Logo
Historydraft Logo

Prime Ministers

The Prime Minister is a vital position in all the countries as they contribute in ruling the country and serve the people of their nations, get to know some of the history's finest leaders in this positon and their stories and secrets. Meet Emmanuel Macron from France, Theresa May, and David Cameron from the United Kingdom, and Indira Gandhi from India, and more.

< All Collections   Grid   Mindmap   Timeline   Share  

David Ben-Gurion

Prime minister David Ben-Gurion Image
Saturday Oct 16, 1886 to Saturday Dec 1, 1973

David Ben-Gurion (16 October 1886 – 1 December 1973) was the primary national founder of the State of Israel and the first Prime Minister of Israel.

Timeline | Story | Article

Indira Gandhi

Indira Gandhi Image
Monday Nov 19, 1917 to Wednesday Oct 31, 1984

Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi was an Indian politician, stateswoman and a central figure of the Indian National Congress. She was the first and, to date, the only female Prime Minister of India. Indira Gandhi was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru, the first prime minister of India. She served as Prime Minister from January 1966 to March 1977 and again from January 1980 until her assassination in October 1984, making her the second longest-serving Indian Prime Minister, after her father.

Timeline | Story | Article

Shimon Peres

Shimon Peres Main Image
Thursday Aug 2, 1923 to Wednesday Sep 28, 2016

Shimon Peres (born Szymon Perski; 2 August 1923 – 28 September 2016) was an Israeli politician who served as the ninth President of Israel (2007–2014), the Prime Minister of Israel (twice), and the Interim Prime Minister, in the 1970s to the 1990s. He was a member of twelve cabinets and represented five political parties in a political career spanning 70 years. Peres was elected to the Knesset in November 1959 and except for a three-month-long hiatus in early 2006, was in office continuously until he was elected President in 2007. At the time of his retirement in 2014, he was the world's oldest head of state and was considered the last link to Israel's founding generation.

Timeline | Story | Article

Narendra Damodardas Modi

Narendra Damodardas Modi Image
Sunday Sep 17, 1950 to Present

Narendra Damodardas Modi (born 17 September 1950) is an Indian politician serving as the 14th and current Prime Minister of India since 2014. He was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, and is the Member of Parliament for Varanasi. Modi is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), a Hindu nationalist volunteer organisation. He is the first prime minister outside of the Indian National Congress to win two consecutive terms with a full majority, and the second one to complete five years in office after Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Timeline | Story | Article

Tony Blair

Tony Blair Image
Tuesday May 5, 1953 to Present

Anthony Charles Lynton Blair (born 6 May 1953) is a British politician who served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1997 to 2007 and Leader of the Labour Party from 1994 to 2007. He was Leader of the Opposition from 1994 to 1997. As of 2017, Blair is the last British Labour Party leader to have won a general election.

Timeline | Story | Article

Theresa May

Theresa May
Sunday Sep 30, 1956 to Present

Theresa Mary May MP (born 1 October 1956) is a British politician serving as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom since 2016. She served as Home Secretary from 2010 to 2016, and served as Leader of the Conservative Party from 2016 to 2019. May was first elected Member of Parliament (MP) for Maidenhead in 1997. Ideologically, she identifies herself as a one-nation conservative.

Timeline | Story | Article

David Cameron

David Cameron Image
Sunday Oct 9, 1966 to Present

David William Donald Cameron is a British politician who served as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 2010 to 2016. He was the Member of Parliament (MP) for Witney from 2001 to 2016 and Leader of the Conservative Party from 2005 to 2016. He identifies as a one-nation conservative, and has been associated with both economically liberal and socially liberal policies.

Timeline | Story | Article

Justin Trudeau

Justin Trudeau Image
Saturday Dec 25, 1971 to Present

Justin Pierre James Trudeau (born December 25, 1971) is a Canadian politician serving as the 23rd and current Prime Minister of Canada since 2015 and Leader of the Liberal Party since 2013. Trudeau is the second-youngest Canadian Prime Minister after Joe Clark; he is also the first to be related to a previous holder of the post, as the eldest son of Pierre Trudeau.

Timeline | Story | Article

Emmanuel Macron

Emmanuel Macron Image
Wednesday Dec 21, 1977 to Present

Emmanuel Jean-Michel Frédéric Macron (born 21 December 1977) is a French politician serving as President of the French Republic since 2017.

Timeline | Story | Article

Jacinda Ardern

Jacinda Ardern
Saturday Jul 26, 1980 to Present

Jacinda Kate Laurell Ardern (born 26 July 1980) is a New Zealand politician who has served as the 40th prime minister of New Zealand and leader of the Labour Party since 2017. She has been the member of Parliament (MP) for Mount Albert since March 2017, having first been elected to the House of Representatives as a list MP in 2008.

Timeline | Story | Article